Broken Soul

On a sharp, thin blade I tread
Wondering if I’ll ever mend
Whispers clouding my mind
Creating doubt in my sublime
Sifting out my joy of life
Filtering it with endless strife
New obstacles replacing the old
This was not the life I was sold
My happy pill, now washed away
Gathering rain for my storm today
One door closes, the other breathes pain
Will my ashes ever see the surface terrain?
Vessel of my soul, you harbour chains
Rigging me up, leaving no remains
Scattered on an island, with my delusional mind
With just one act of kindness -I would rewind
But that’s my forbidden tree
(One I’m restricted to see)
So I gather endless dust
In an urn born to rust.

~ Copyright ©yikici. 2014

4 thoughts on “Broken Soul

    • Thank you John, the holidays were good, I got stuck in the flooded region, so could not get home as soon as I would have liked to, but it meant I get to spend time with my sister and her family, which I am glad I did. Hope you had a good holiday, and I hope 2014 is a year full of hope, love and happiness for you. x

  1. Happy New Year Oz…at times the voices of dark..or depression, scream to be heard, to take away what we thought our life should be. I hope this year brings much happiness, love and joy to you and those your love. xx

Please share your thoughts...

