Paranoid Eyes?

Image sourced from: http://www.neatorama.com/2013/04/04/Were-Being-Watched/

Be careful of what you do
You’re being watched
Every second you move
You’re being watched
For every handshake, smile
You’re being watched
Your random surfing on the wire
You’re being watched
Public transports to CCTV
You’re being watched
Social networking, messaging
You’re being watched
Idly sitting at home
You’re being watched
Playing on your phone
You’re being watched
Privacy? What’s that?
You’re being watched
Identity being sold
You’re being watched
You’re preferences, likes
You’re being watched
Shared something? Ranted?
You’re being watched
Idolised a star? Watched from afar?
You’re being watched
Minding your own business? Playing it cool?
You’re being watched
Your daily shopping, loyalty awarding
You’re being watched
For every search, thought, call
You’re being watched
Confirming relations, friendships
You’re being watched
Speaking out, just for a laugh?
You’re being watched
It’s everywhere you go
Phones, pc’s, navigation
You’re being watched
What’s there to do?
Will you stand up -say stop?
-Too late…
You’re being watched.

~ Copyright ©yikici. 2013

How comfortable are you being watched? 😉

(Shared for dVerse’s Open Link Night, why don’t you join in the fun too?  -Oh, yea, you’re being watched 😛 )

*Image sourced from: Neatorama.

28 thoughts on “Paranoid Eyes?

      • Actually it is a Television Series…. The opening naration is “You are being watched. The government has a secret system, a machine that spies on you every hour of every day. I know because I built it. I designed the machine to detect acts of terror but it sees everything. Violent crimes involving ordinary people, people like you. Crimes the government considered “irrelevant.” They wouldn’t act, so I decided I would. But I needed a partner, someone with the skills to intervene. Hunted by the authorities, we work in secret. You’ll never find us, but victim or perpetrator, if your number’s up… we’ll find *you*. ”

      • Ooo that’s rather eerie, I do not know of that television series, but I can see why you made that connection with this poem…it is a scary thought though, as it’s all possible…

    • Oh I have no doubts about that, it is a scary thought, but the most scary part of it is, we are in someways ok with it…that’s surely wrong, as I’m sure those who watch have plenty of security placed in their lives to prevent the watching. 😏

  1. ugh indeed… we are being watched….i find it frightening and it’s getting worse and worse… even on fb you’re kind of a glass person…i confused them a bit when i chose new york as the place where i live…. now i’m getting all those ads from fitness studios in nyc and stuff…ha…smiles

    • Lol..I refuse to fill in all the details they want, though it’s a pain it’s always coming up as a notification..talk about peer pressure (luckily I didn’t have to endure that as a child, and am fortunate to be away from all that nonsense in my adult life too ☺️); being watched is a scary thing, but like I said to Audrey, the scariest part is we actually allow it, they’ve been crafty enough to make us think it’s ok..and that’s one of my biggest worries in today’s society.. 😁✨

    • Hopefully indeed, but that’s a big ask…I think they are hoping we think like that so they can get away with loads of other privacy infringing activities… 😁😳✨

  2. well now….that is quite the scary thought…but the reality of it as well…the eyes are watching us….and some days i wonder if it is too late for us to stand up or if the demon is too entrenched already for us to escape….

    • That’s an even scarier thought Brian 😳 I’d like to hope wiry faith, strength, goodwill and determination, we can rise above this…if humanity came together, and actually acted on what most people are saying right now, we’d certainly cause a stir..a kind of revolution perhaps..but something certainly needs to be done. 😁✨

  3. I sometimes feel like somebody’s watching….a little creepy….so well written that it gets the hair on the back of your neck (so to speak ) to stand up and shivver. Nicely written Yikici

    • oh goodness, I doubt your life is boring..but if they were, then you’d be off their radar, now that’s a promising outlook…but still, I like my privacy, so hope all this watching stops. 😁✨

  4. you have brought a new meaning to the word ‘watched’ ~ unnerving though it is ~ yes we are being ‘monitored’ ~ big brother is always watching ~ very interesting write and I like the rhythm. x

    • Thank you Jenny, what a humbling comment…I wish we weren’t being watched, but alas we are, and it seems we are ok for them to do so…have we been programmed to be so blasé about it all? 😳✨

  5. I love the echoes of Orwell’s 1984 here; we are indeed being watched everywhere we go, and almost everything we do. It’s not that I have much to hide, just that there are some things I’d rather keep to myself and a few trusted others, rather than have some electronic Big Brother collecting every scrap of information it can about me on behalf of some corportation or government then selling my life as just another commodity to make a profit from. And I know, this comment is being watched … smiles

Please share your thoughts...

