Burnt Decks

A deck of cards I place in my hands
Playing a game, unplanned, underhand
Shuffling my life with flicks and turns
An abyss to fill when alight, it burns.

Burnt deck in my hands, placing cards where they land
A game of chance I play -is luck my upper-hand?

Where do I stand?

Coloured pack singed to ash
The blackest of all with a touch of dark panache
The spice of life, discoloured,
Tasting too bitter, tarnished.

The card’s matted, no longer varnished.
Life, now coldly garnished.
The flames extinct
The lights dimmed
No longer a soul you emit.
Time for those cards to readmit,
Readmit you into harsh grit.

Will you commit?

A deck of cards I place in my hands
Playing a game, unplanned, underhand
Shuffling my life with flicks and turns
An abyss to fill when alight, it burns.

Now it’s your turn…

~ Copyright ©yikici. 2013

 

16 thoughts on “Burnt Decks

  1. Amazing piece. An experiment you say? I may be in over my head when we collaborate. lol.
    Speaking of which I will be emailing you this weekend (possibly today) regarding that. Looking forward to it. Anyway, great piece.
    Keep Inspiring

    • You’re going to make me blush, it indeed was an experimental piece, I often write poems without thinking too much (I let words just flow onto the page as I think of them); with this piece, I actually thought about the structure and the words and combined elements I would not normally, so in that respect it was an experiment, not my usual format. I am really humbled by your kind comment -especially since you write so eloquently and effortlessly, so thank you very much.

      Where will you be emailing me, through my contact page?

Please share your thoughts...

