The Black Cycle

The stepping stones are back
Two ahead I go -then one back
Riding on a high
One particular day I die
Then I rise.
Two steps, then back
(I backtrack).
The stepping stones are back
I try not to crack,
But on a day so low
I’m just at a blow
I can’t see my glow.
Two steps, then back
(I backtrack).
The stepping stones are back.
Recognise, I no longer
That face in the mirror
Staring back at me
That I want no longer.
Two steps, then back
(I backtrack).
The stepping stones are back.
Twisted soul of hers
Her heart no longer purrs
Emptiness shrouds -it bellows.
Two steps, then back
(I backtrack).
The stepping stones are back.
From completing daily chores
To losing sight of my core
These I abhor
Two steps, then back
(I backtrack).
The stepping stones are back.
Stranger in mirror
Watches back queerer
Will I ever be nearer
To my old self -much clearer?
Two steps, then back
(I backtrack).
The stepping stones are back.
Will one day I ever stay on track -instead of the black?

~ Copyright ©yikici. 2013

4 thoughts on “The Black Cycle

Please share your thoughts...

